latest colors & news

Friday, 7 April 2006

This month's Project Spectrum colors… Orange & Yellow!

orange books yellow books
I think there aren't many things representing orange and yellow in our house other than books! So I'll have to get creative. It's about time!

Knitting News
On the knitting front, I finally feel like i'm making progress. I turned the heel on Jeff's sock — it's the neatest looking heel because the stripe color changes right at the edge of the heel by coincidence! As for the top-down sweater, I completed the torso and am now working on one of the arms. These should go more quickly since they are much narrower than the torso section. Unfortunately I can't show pictures right now because both our camera batteries seem to have died. Grrr…

knit the classics
I'm delighted to be taking part in the Knit the Classics reading and knitting group. Reading classic books and knitting projects that fit the books… wayyy cooool. This month's book is Moll Flanders by Daniel Defoe, which someone at KTC says is the first modern novel. Don't know what my project will be yet, because I've got a number of projects on the needles and some in the queue already — but I'd love to knit the Eleanora Socks by Miriam.

In Other News
The reason for my increased knitting time is… Yesterday morning the dermatologist took another mole off my right calf. It's one that was already taken off twice, yes two times before!, but kept growing back weird. Here it was in all its weirdness (I was calling it the dark crystal mole):

dark crystal
Despite the fact that the previous two times the pathology reports came back negative, the dermato wanted to take this off completely to make sure, because of my history with melanoma. She took off the mole plus all the scar tissue around it. Stitches come out in two weeks. The lower leg causes several problematic logistics because 1) blood tends to pool up in lower extremities and 2) the skin is pretty tight there. Suffice to say, I have to sit with my leg up as much as possible.

Anyways, I'll spare any more details (although later I might just have to flash some stitches images once I can take the pressure bandage off!). For now, I'll try to soothe any grossed-out readers with a sweet image of Cooper resting on the back of the couch– I think he thinks he's taking care of me!

Cooper on the edge of a snooze

Leave a Reply

