sock “started”

Wednesday, 22 March 2006

I was feeling left behind by the other knitters at Cirque du Sock, so I finally bought the proper size needle to start the Knitalong. Size one needles. I’ve never knitted with anything smaller than, what, a size two… Ones seem a lot smaller. Especially since my two recent projects were on size 9 needles. Espcially since it’s a 40-inch long circular needle for doing Magic Loop socks.

Anyways, I did a small gauge swatch at knitting group tonight. sock swatch I know, I know, I should do a larger gauge swatch, and do ribbing on the edges so it lays flat, but hey. The fact that I even swatched at all is an improvement over past projects. So there.

I think I made gauge…

3 Responses to “sock “started””

  1. Kim Says:

    From a fellow Cirquer:
    Congratulations on the pretty start! I finished up my second sock last night, propelled by my mother’s looming birthday. I really like the yarn you have — and I hear you about size 1s. I’ve done some Barbie clothes on them, and felt if I let out a hard breath, they’d snap.

  2. Elisabeth Says:

    Guage swatch? We don’t need no stinkin’ guage swatch!

    I love that colorway. Don’t worry about the size 1 needles–you’ll get used to them (although, I confess it does take longer to get anything done with them–so many more stitches!).

  3. Elspeth Says:

    Gauge? For socks? You are brave. If you think 1s are bad, you should try 0s! I have a set of 0 circs now even.

Leave a Reply

